Skip Navigation

Skip sharing on social media links
Share this:

 The National Children’s Study introduces the Regional Operations Centers

Map of United States showing four Regional Operations Centers - west, south, central, and east

The National Children’s Study (NCS) completed its transition to a new model of data collection. As of October 1, 2013, all 40 NCS Vanguard Study locations are managed regionally by four contractors, referred to as Regional Operation Centers, or ROCs. Each of these research institutions is responsible for ten Study locations in four different regions-- Central, East, South, and West. The Central and East Regions are managed by the National Opinion Research Center (NORC), the South Region is managed by Northwestern University and the West Region is managed by Westat.

In 2012, in an effort to reduce costs and streamline operations, the NCS began the process of consolidating operations. The initial local Study Center contractors, whose contracts began to expire in 2012, were invited to apply for the new contracts. The contracts for the Regional Operations Centers were awarded after a rigorous and open competition. The National Children’s Study completed the transition to the Regional Operations Centers in September 2013.

Since 2009 over 5000 babies have joined the NCS. The Study plans to follow these children through 21 years of age. 

The table below lists the ROCs and their corresponding Vanguard Study locations.

Regional Operations Center NCS Vanguard Location
Polk County, IA
Cook County, IL
Jefferson County KY
Wayne County, MI
Lincoln, Pipestone, and Yellow Medicine Counties, MN,
and Brookings County, SD
Ramsey County, MN
St. Louis, MO
Cuyahoga County, OH
Westmoreland County, PA
Waukesha County, WI
New Haven County, CT
Worcester County, MA
Montgomery County, MD
Cumberland County, ME
Duplin County, NC
Durham County, NC
New York City (Queens), NY
Montgomery County, PA
Schuylkill County, PA
Providence County, RI
(Northwestern University)
Benton AR
Baker County, FL
Baldwin County, GA
New Orleans, LA
Hinds County, MS
Valencia County, NM
Davidson County, TN
Bexar County, TX
Harris County, TX
Lamar County, TX
Pinal County, AZ
Los Angeles County, CA
Orange County, CA
Sacramento County, CA
San Diego County, CA
Douglas County, CO
Honolulu County, HI
Cache County, UT
Salt Lake County, UT
Grant County, WA