Skip Navigation

Skip sharing on social media links
Share this:

 New Members Appointed to NCS Federal Advisory Committee

Four new members have recently joined the roster of the National Children’s Study Federal Advisory Committee (NCSAC) –

Alison Myska, PhD

Kari Nadeau, MD PhD

Diane Rowley, MD MPH

Dhiraj Vattem, PhD

Alison Myska, PhD. Dr. Myska is an Acting Branch Chief within the Defense Threat Reduction Agency at the U.S. Department of Defense. Dr. Myska leads a team of civilian and military scientists and engineers in carrying out specific chemical and biological (CB) threat reduction science and technology programs to help counter CB threats.

Kari Nadeau, PhD. Dr. Nadeau is a professor at Stanford University School of Medicine, and is an expert in allergy and immunology.

Diane Rowley, MD PhD. Dr. Rowley is a professor at the Gillings School of Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and is a renowned expert in maternal and child health and health disparities.

Dhiraj Vattem, PhD. Dr. Vattem is a professor of Nutrition Biomedicine and Biotechnology at the Texas State University. His research focuses on the effects of diet on stress response.

The NCSAC, whose members range from leading bioethicists to seasoned survey methodologists and statisticians, was established by law to advise the leadership of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Children’s Study (NCS) on critical aspects of the NCS’ development.

Dr. Myska, Dr. Nadeau, Dr. Rowley, and Dr. Vattem were appointed to four year terms and joined the NCSAC during its most recent quarterly meeting on January 29, 2014, to discuss the NCS Study Content Framework and the content of NCS Pregnancy visits.

All NCSAC meetings are open to the public, and interested parties can attend in-person or view by VideoCast.

Bios for all members are available.